A Beginner’s Icon Set

The Beginning

For my Visual Media class, we were assigned to create 4-6 icons. I wanted to imperfect the icons I was making by adding a birthmark to each animal.

My target audience is:

  • Age: 10 & Up
  • Message: That you can find beauty as well as humor in imperfections.

Design Analysis

I created my animal icons to have the same basic circle as well as eyes to create consistency throughout the icons, even though I would be adding a varying of detail to each individually. The colors I selected for my icons were a little more grungy, to once again convey imperfection and symbolize that there is beauty in the dirtiness of life.

The Process: Sketches, Rough Draft & Revisions, Final

IMG_3354
Sketches

While sketching the icons, I realized that 1) I am not the best at drawing horse faces and 2) I felt like I could create something better, which is why I decided to create a goat in Illustrator instead.

The Mole DC Animals
Rough Draft

The Mole DC Animals-04

Icons 400 px by 400 px: 

The Mole DC Animals 2-08
Pig – Clarissa Cook
The Mole DC Animals 2-07
Goat – Clarissa Cook
The Mole DC Animals 2-06
Cow – Clarissa Cook

Icons 60 px by 60 px: 

The Mole DC Animals-01

The Mole DC Animals-05

The Mole DC Animals-03

The Mole DC Animals-02

I have to admit, working in Illustrator Adobe wasn’t easy. For the Visual Media class, I am taking we had to complete this tutorial worksheet and it was even more complicated than I was expecting. Though I am not the best, I feel like I am progressing and that it what matters to me. Be optimistic and keep designing.

Clarissa Cook

 

Leave a Reply

